PCC Information


The Parochial Church Council (PCC) is the key decision making body of a Church of England parish. It consists of clergy, churchwardens and others elected by the Annual Parochial Church Meeting (APCM) of the parish.

Its powers and duties are defined by certain Acts of Parliament and other legislation, principally the Parochial Church Councils (Powers) Measure 1956.

It has the responsibility, along with the incumbent (rector, vicar, or priest-in-charge), to promote the mission of God in its parish.

Legally, the PCC is responsible for the finances of the parish. It also has ultimate responsibility for the care and maintenance of all church buildings and their contents. Although these responsibilities are executed by the churchwardens, all PCC members must share in the oversight. It has a voice in the forms of Service used by the church and may make representations to the bishop on matters that affect the welfare of the parish. However, buildings and money must not obscure the PCC’s fundamental role in wider areas of mission. Everyone on a PCC is also a Charity Trustee.

The membership of the Councils is as follows:

St Chad's

Rev Mark Coleman (Chairman), Jane Hyde, Wendy Cocks, Jill Midgley, Alan Wild, Helen Maguire, Paul Bollington, Angela Collins, Lyn Taylor, Martin Butterworth, Donlad Fletcher

St Mary's in the Baum

Rev M Coleman, (Chairman) V Leach, W Cullen, M. Simmonds, A Pollock,  P Harrison, Jane Hyde, Wendy Cocks